1. Travel
Send to a Friend via Email

Haridwar 2010 Kumbh Mela Bathing Dates

Auspicious Bathing Dates for the 2010 Kumbh Mela

By

Haridwar 2010 Kumbh Mela Bathing Dates

Bathing at Har-ki-pauri ghat, Haridwar.

www.flick.com user gbSk

The 2010 Kumbh Mela in Haridwar will be the next Kumbh Mela in India. It will take place from January 14 to April 28, 2010.

One of the most important activities undertaken by pilgrims at the Kumbh Mela is a dip in the holy Ganges River on certain auspicious dates, to wash away their sins. The majority of the bathing will take place at the Har-ki-pauri ghat.

What are the 2010 Haridwar Kumbh Mela Bathing Dates

The auspicious bathing dates for the 2010 Kumbh Mela are as follows:
  • Thursday January 14, 2010
  • Friday January 15, 2010
  • Wednesday January 20, 2010
  • Saturday January 30, 2010
  • Friday February 12, 2010 (Maha Shivratri)
  • Monday March 15, 2010 (Somvati Amavasya)
  • Tuesday March 16, 2010
  • Wednesday March 24, 2010
  • Tuesday March 30, 2010
  • Wednesday 14 April, 2010 (Mesha Sankranti)
  • Wednesday 28 April 2010

The most important bathing dates when the sadhus come to bathe (known as the Royal Bath), are highlighted in bold.

Maha Shivratri is the great night of Shiva. Many sadhus are followers of Lord Shiva.

Somvati Amavasya is a no moon day that is as significant as a Solar Eclipse. The benefits of taking a holy dip in the Ganges on this day are considered to be everlasting.

Where is Haridwar

Ancient Haridwar is one of the seven holiest places in India, and one of the oldest living cities. Located at the foothills of the Himalayas in Uttarakhand, it's here that the holy Ganges River emerges from the mountains and commences its long journey to the Bay of Bengal. This makes Haridwar a particularly picturesque location to attend the Kumbh Mela.

For more information about Haridwar, including weather and how to get there, check out this Haridwar Travel Guide.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.